Here we go again!

I started playing softball when I was 8 years old. It was a slowpitch league, and when I was 10, it changed. We began playing Fastpitch, and with the change in pitching style, I thought I’d give it a try. I got hooked.

Here I am, 26 years later, and I’m still actively involved in softball. I’ve coached for our local league for the last 3 seasons and I’m looking at becoming a board member. My husband, who, before me, knew practically nothing about baseball OR softball, is now the Head of Promotions for the league. One of the parents, who volunteered to help assist with coaching my first season with the league, dove right in too, and is now the VP and Treasurer for the league. I feel like King Midas, but with the Softball Touch. I give “the bug” to anyone I encounter. I shouldn’t take all the credit, because there’s something about softball, fast pitch softball, that works it’s way into your heart and stays. I just help, I guess, with my enthusiasm.

So even though the season doesn’t start again for a few months, we’re running clinics for pitchers and catchers, as well as hitting and fielding clinics. They’ve asked that I be there, not only as a coach, but a former player who played at an elite level.  Despite my workload for earning my Masters, I can’t seem to say no.

My first clinic will be tonight, for pitchers and catchers. Here we go again!

Leave a Reply

